ASHA School Violence Taskforce

ASHA’s Response to Parkland School Shooting

This week, we are once again hearing about another tragic school shooting, this time at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. In our effort to transform all schools into places where every student learns and thrives, we cannot ignore the crippling impact of events such as these. Our thoughts and prayers are with the students, faculty, staff, and others affected, not just in Parkland, but at all schools and in all communities. Yet, we know that thoughts and prayers are not enough. We recognize the effect this news has on the social, emotional, and mental wellbeing of school communities across the country. ASHA encourages its members and all school health professionals to lead change efforts that include working closely with community leaders, elected officials, and others to create comprehensive and coordinated solutions. We support the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model as a means to create school communities that are safe and healthy.

ASHA’s School Violence Taskforce

On March 15, 2018 ASHA announced the formation of a special taskforce to address school violence and bring forward meaningful solutions to this ongoing epidemic. Watch this space for additional information about the work of the ASHA School Violence Taskforce.

Current Taskforce Members:

  • Mrs. Sharon Murray (Chair)
  • Dr. Jeffrey Clark
  • Dr. Lloyd Kolbe
  • Dr. David Lohrmann
  • Mrs. Linda Morse
  • Mr. Ty Oehrtman (Current President)
  • Dr. Larry Olsen
  • Dr. Cynthia Symons
  • Dr. David Wiley
  • Dr. Jeanie Alter (Executive Director)